Look friends, I read some comments on a recipe posted on a certain vegan cheese brand’s facebook page this morning and it really annoyed me. Why a bunch of non-vegans feel the need to comment in the first place, I don’t know. Get a life. But what bothered me is this idea that “if it doesn’t have dairy, it’s not cheese.” Well, I’m just an uneducated church secretary, so let’s see what Merriam-Webster has to say about it:
1 a : a food consisting of the coagulated, compressed, and usually ripened curd of milk separated from the whey
b : an often cylindrical cake of this food
2 : something resembling cheese in shape or consistency
Wait, what was that? something resembling cheese in shape or consistency.
And did you know the secondary definition of milk, according to the same dictionary, is “a white liquid produced by a plant”. So, ya know, that could be soy milk, almond milk, quinoa milk, macadamia milk, cashew milk, sesame milk, coconut milk, hemp milk, flax milk. You get the idea (Maybe I’m stretching the definition a little, but it doesn’t say it has to ooze from the plant).
So just to be clear: YES. Cheese can still be cheese without dairy. You might not fool anyone into thinking a vegan cheese is a dairy cheese (although I have, and without even trying, and much to my dismay since I wanted to eat it all myself), but IT IS CHEESE.